“The best way to find yourself is to lose yourself in the service of others.” – Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi

Every day I am faced with a choice. Give or take? It is easy to get caught up in our own little bubble and forget that others actually have feelings and needs similar to our own. I am constantly faced with making decisions that I know will only benefit someone else and will inevitably cause me some sort of inconvenience or at the very least, time. Nevertheless, the answer is always the same. 

It doesn’t matter what it is or who it is for or how long it will take or the fact that there are a ton of other things that I could be doing instead. If someone asks, there is a reason. After a while, we tend to stop analyzing and weighing the options and we just give. It becomes second nature.

There is something to say for that feeling we experience when we give of ourselves. Volunteering in the animal rescue world, I am all too familiar. There is such a need that “no” is hardly an option for some of us. Regardless, it shocks me how often people question my giving. “Why do you volunteer so much? Why don’t you get paid?” Simple questions like this tell me everything I need to know about that person. If you have to ask “why give,” then you are clearly a person who has built a life on taking. At some point, someone has given to you. 

I can only hope for the day when we have more volunteers than are needed. When charities cease to exist because all needs are met and all funds are provided. Imagine if everyone donated just 5 hours a week to volunteer? What a different world this would be.

Get inspired. Give back. Repeat.

Leave a Reply

